I already have a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit. Do I need the new permit to carry concealed?
No. Your current permit will become what is to be called the Tennessee Enhanced Carry Permit. It will allow for both OPEN and CONCEALED carry.
This course sounds too good to be true. Does Tennessee really offer two types of permits?
Yes. A new law (HB 1264) was passed in July of 2019 allowing an online class taught by State approved schools such as this one, to certify Tennesseans for the new Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit. You can follow this link to the Tennessee Department of Safety website to see the new permit types: https://www.tn.gov/safety/tnhp/handgun/permittypes.html
I have heard of other online courses that claim to qualify me for the Tennessee Carry Permit. I have been told they are scams. Is this true?
It is absolutely true. Beware of those who are offering an out of state certificate, such as the Virginia, or Nevada ones. Tennessee does NOT accept those certificates. You should also beware of any online course offering a super low price. Most of those are "fly by night" types of instruction with no real value for obtaining your Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit.
Don't I have to qualify at a shooting range to get my Concealed Carry Permit?
You DO NOT need to qualify at the range for the new Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit. You only need to do range time if you are attending an 8 hour in person class in order to obtain your TN Enhanced Carry Permit.
Are there any other fees to get my permit, or do I only need to pay the $39?
The $39 fee charged on this website is for the online class only. You will receive a Certificate of Completion once you have successfully completed the course. You'll then take your Certificate of Completion to any Tennessee Full Service Drivers License Station to apply for your permit. The State of Tennessee will charge you $68 for an eight year concealed carry permit.
What are the eligibility requirements for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit?
To see all eligibility requirements for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit, please visit our eligibility page by clicking here.
Do I have to complete the 90 minute course all in one sitting?
No. You may pause and resume the course from where you left off as much as needed. You will have one year of access to complete the course. After completion of the course, your access may be limited.
Once I have completed the online course, how do I apply for my Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit?
For full details on what you need to do after completing the online course, CLICK HERE
Does the Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit have reciprocity with other States?
RECIPROCITY - this list is from State of Tennessee Department of Safety website. NOTE that North Dakota only recognizes the Enhanced Permit. The others on the list recognize the Concealed and the Enhanced:
Colorado - Does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits
Florida* - Does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits
Nebraska - Does not honor 18-20 year old permits
Nevada – Does not honor 18-20 year old permits or Retired Law Enforcement Lifetime
North Dakota - Only honors 8 year Enhanced permit. Does not honor 18-20 year old permits
Pennsylvania* - Does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits
West Virginia* - Does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits
Wisconsin - Does not honor 18-20 year old permits
* Indicates the state has a formal reciprocity agreement with Tennessee.
(NOTE: Persons with a valid Tennessee Handgun Carry permit should contact any state for information on carrying such handgun prior to entering the state.)